No ifs, ands, or BUTS. . .

Lately, I’ve been getting a lot of people asking me the same question:

What do you use for toilet paper?

So, I figured I’d spend some time chatting about this.

Personally – and this may sound bad, but – reducing my toilet paper waste is not the highest thing on my list of Zero Waste goals. It simply isn’t that high up there right now.

So far I have reduced my waste by composting, finding alternatives to plastic, investing in steel / glass cups, even reducing my tampon waste by buying tampons without applicators ! I’ve been methodical in recognizing habits, replacing wasteful tools, and finding eco alternatives. Priorities are what help me move forward on this journey, and right now, toilet paper is not one of my priorities.

I have made some steps to reduce the TOILET PAPER PACKAGING – which can be surprisingly harder than it seems. And for now, that is a good enough step for me !

However, if you do want to take steps to reduce your waste waste (haha) there are a few options:

  1. invest in a bidet attachment (like this one from Tushy)
  2. look at alternatives to traditional toilet paper like these made from bamboo (which is a more sustainable resource)
  3. buy stronger toilet paper that is more absorbent; that way, you’re using less toilet paper every time you wipe
  4. look for toilet paper brands that use sustainable wrapping instead of plastic wrap, like these !
  5. buy toilet paper in bulk to reduce your packaging waste

Do you have any other ideas on how to cut down on your poo-poo paper waste? Let me know !

Stay (un)trashy,

-Sam

Leave a Reply

