Bags on Bags and Prep. . .

So, it’s April. . . and you may have noticed that I haven’t posted anything yet.

WHAT HAPPENED ? IS SHE GIVING UP !? DID SHE CHOKE ON A BAMBOO STRAW !? DID SHE FALL INTO HER COMPOST BIN !?!

Fear not, concerned citizen – although my cat almost jumped into the compost bin a few days ago. . . which would have been groooooooooooooooss. . .

I have been up to lots of things (some of the top secret). Most of my time has been spent planning / researching / and in zero waste prep mode.

In case you didn’t know, EARTH DAY is in April !!! So, I have been spending the month researching trash facts, Zero Waste alternatives, and planning my FULL WEEK OF ZERO WASTE LIVING !!!

From April 17 – April 23 I will be going TOTALLY ZERO WASTE

(so many CAPs. . help)

But. . . that’s still a few days away. . .

This morning was a beauuuuuutiful Wednesday morning, so I took a stroll through the farmers market. With by brand new bento bag in hand (see instagram post for full story), I bought an empire apple and a feta and herb scone for breakfast

Then, I got a liiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiittle carried away at the plant stand. . .

17916844_10208855392129908_1879211612_o
i bought 5 plants. . . 

I plan on planting these beauties in a while hanging planter from Ikea ! I always keep a large reudable bag with me (in case I go to Target or grocery shopping on a whim), and today it served as a plant carrier.

Then I walked to work with my many bags in hand feeling very happy with my successful Zero Waste morning.

17916647_10208855391569894_1950504863_o
work work work bags bags bags

Speaking of gags:

I wanted to share this ‘pre-earth week’ post to bring up a fact I just learned about single use plastic bags:

The average American family takes home almost 1,500 plastic shopping bags a year, and only 1% of plastic bags are returned for recycling. That means that the average family only recycles 15 bags a year; the rest ends up in landfills as litter.

That’s crazy. .  . like. . .seriously insane. Target alone gives away enough plastic bags a year to wrap around the Earth 7 times. 7 TIMES !?!?! That’s nuts, and actually really terrifying.

Look, I am not writing this blog or going on this journey because I expect everyone to share my passion (craziness) for reducing my trash. However, if you do take anything away from my story, I hope you see how easy it is to make small, everyday changes in your life that reduce your environmental impact.

Investing in a reusable shopping bag is one of the easiest ways to reduce your footprint – plus you can show off your style at the same time !

Just something to think about. . .

Stay (un)trashy,

-Sam

Leave a Reply

