March Breakfast Challenge : Update

Hello hello HELLO !!!!!

If you remember, I set a challenge for myself for the month of March:

I pledge (and will do my very best) to go 100% Zero Waste for breakfast. . . every single day !

So, let’s see how I did !

  • 3/1 – START OF THE PROJECT !!!!!!!!
  • 3/2 – chia seed pudding with strawberries
  • 3/3 – compostable plate and silverware from home so I could enjoy the Employee Appreciation Brunch Digitas threw for us. I also brough chia seed pudding in a mason jar with pomegranate & blueberries on top because #yagirlhungry
  • 3/4 – a banana before yoga + another banana after yoga
  • 3/5FAIL: I went out to brunch with my friend and ordered an OJ (expecting a glass of juice) and they gave me a carton of OJ with a straw. . . WHAT IS THIS, MIDDLE SCHOOL ?!?!
  • 3/6 – a croissant from the bread bin at my grocery store (a zero packaging bin full of lots of different kinds of bread) & chia seed pudding with pomegranate seeds #pomegranatefordays & coffee in a reusable mug
  • 3/7 – blueberry banana and coconut milk smoothie (all materials were either compostable or recyclable)
  • 3/8 – chia seed pudding with blueberries and honey

17237071_10208580610660543_254260384_o

  • 3/9 – a banana
  • 3/10- free bagel served on a compostable plate !
  • 3/11FAIL: this one is a pretty loose fail though. I went out to brunch with Carl and Matt and we had mimosas (the foil was the trash) but the rest of brunch was Zero Waste !
  • 3/12 – Chai latte & croissant from The Little Sweet Cafe
  • 3/13 – a banana and a blueberry & banana smoothie
  • 3/14FAIL: we had a surprise snow day and a guest staying over, so we made French Toast (the plastic wrapper around the challa bread was trash)
  • 3/15 – apple & a banana and peanut butter smoothie

17356847_10208626042436309_173089403_o

  • 3/16 – chia seed pudding with blueberries and strawberries

17349303_10208632514638110_1349427156_o

  • 3/17 – an apple and a FREE bagel (eating fresh, non packaged bagels always tastes better)
  • 3/18 – BREAKFAST IN MY HOME TOWN AT MY FAVORITE BRUNCH PLACE !!!! I went to Nudy’s with my family and successfully avoided straws !
  • 3/19FAIL: I had a lovely home cooked breakfast at my granny’s with some of my family members. I was not there when the breakfast was being made, but considering that we had items that I know traditionally come wrapped in plastic, I am pretty sure that waste was made. So, even thought it was out of my hands, I am counting this as a FAIL day. . . but really, I was just happy to share a home cooked meal with the people I love. . .so its only a half FAIL day
  • 3/20 – an apple
  • 3/21 – an apple with a bowl of cereal (technically this is creating trash because the cereal comes in a bag inside the cardboard box, but I am going to get at least 6 breakfasts out of this box, so I am being lenient with myself)
  • 3/22 – Vegan PB Energy Bites from Gregory’s coffee. Even though I was taking my food to go, I asked for it on a plate. that way I could carry it out without any packaging ! Also, I only ate 1/2 of one of these. . . they are DENSE
  • 3/23 – an apple and a ham & cheese ‘panini’ ( I wouldn’t call it that. . . but that’s what they called it) from a local bakery

17439551_10208681565304346_1984135997_n.jpg

  • 3/24 – BAGELS !!!!!!! (from work, no packaging)
  • 3/25FAIL: we made eggs in a basket with a side of bacon (bacon came in plastic packaging)
  • 3/26FAIL: we finished the bacon from yesterday and made eggs and toast again (the bread came in one of those plastic sandwich bags. . . womp womp)
  • 3/27 – an apple (I am so exciting and creative)
  • 3/28 – a croissant and an iced chai latte FOR HERE (dining in saves trash!)
  • 3/29 – a feta and herb scone from the farmer’s market – placed in my own reusable bag on my way to work !
  • 3/30 – chia seed pudding with almond milk and strawberries !
  • 3/31 – FREE ZERO WASTE BAGELS !

I was able to go Zero Waste for 25/31 of my March breakfasts ! Not to shabby, not too shabby at all !

Over this past month I realized that I do REALLY well with going zero waste during the weekdays, but on weekends, I tend to go a little brunch crazy. #notabadthing

My main offenders were:

  • straws
  • bread that came in plastic bags
  • bacon – sweet, sweet bacon

In the future, I am going to try harder to get bread without ANY packaging and preemptively avoid straws. Bacon, well that is another story. I only eat it like once every 2 months, but I’m not sure how that is going to be Zero Waste.

Do you have any favorite Zero Waste breakfast ideas that I’ve missed? Let me know !

Stay (un)trashy,

-Sam

Leave a Reply

