Day 18: March 23 – You say Panini, I Say “You keep using that word, I do not think it means what you think it means. . .”

Good morning ! It is officially spring. . . but does NOT feel like it.

I bundled myself up this morning, strolled to the train, read a little on my way to work, and then stopped to pick up some breakfast.

I went to a local pastry shop / bakery to pick up something scrummy (I’ve been watching The Great British Baking Show a lot). . .

Breakfast: I grabbed (what they call) a “ham and cheese panini” . . . but I would definitely not consider this a panini. I would say its more of a stuffed bun. I also brought an apple from my recent trip to the Farmer’s Market.

17439551_10208681565304346_1984135997_n

Tea: gulo

17431563_10208681635466100_1737590810_o

Coffee: Because I am d.e.a.d. today and need both coffee AND tea to make it through, I grabbed a cup-a-joe in my handy dandy reusable work mug

Lunch: went to the hot food buffet at Essen and took back a (compostable) container full of rice, chicken, beans, and potatoes ! I then INHALED it with a metal fork I brought from home

17475408_10208682309762957_51318605_o

Dinner: Tonight I am going to make an old standby: Rustic Gnocchi (flour, 1 egg, red potatoes, oil, and a bit of rosemary)

Day 18 Take-Aways:

  1. Seek out places that have compostable to-go boxes near your work / home (and make a list for yourself !)
  2. Invest in multiple reusable mugs, that way you’ll always have one within reach

-Sam

Leave a Reply

