Day 12: February 28 – Dragon Fruit and Smoothie Bowls

Last Zero Waste day in February !!! Big changes coming for the month of March ! Stay tuned !

Tea: this morning my throat felt a little scratchy, so I made some tea in my reusable mug !

17016230_10208515898562781_1032168637_o
Enter a caption

Then, I threw the tea bag into the compost bin at my desk 😀

After my morning cuppa, it was time to consume some calories. Here is where things get dicey.

Y’all. . . this is just my opinion. .  . but dragon fruit is overrated.

giphy-2

Hear me out.

First of all, I don’t think they taste like anything. Second of all, they are kind of a strange texture. I also feel like they are being hyped up A LOT. But, nothing feels reliable because there is hardly any medical research out there. Finally, ONE PIECE OF FRUIT WAS 6 DOLLARS !!!!!! I ain’t trying to live like that right now.

But,  I am glad I tried it !

Breakfast: Strawberry Chia Seed Smoothies Bowl (in a mason Jar) with Blueberries and Dragon Fruit

17015205_10208515948964041_1087435825_o
I blended strawberries and coconut milk together to make the smoothie part

Lunch: Tomato, Cucumber and Cheese Sandwich with Home Made Potato and Kale Chips

Also, for those of you who have heard me mention a “bread bin” before, I took a photo of it last night. Since I went to the grocery store pretty late, the bins were kinda sad and empty. . . BUT ! There are usually lots of options. Bagels, croissants, subs, french bread, and more !

I like shopping in the bread bin because I find it hard to finish a full loaf of bread before it goes stale. I am usually only cooking for 1 – 2 people, so shopping small with perishable items helps me cut down on unnecessary food waste.

Coffee: I used the SAME MUG that I made my tea in to get coffee in ! Woop woop.

Dinner: I brought my own reusable chopsticks to dinner tonight to Di Di Dumpling because ya girl was CRAAAAAAAAAAVING some dumplings.

After dinner I am off to yoga, and then back home to decompress and chill with my cats.

Day 12 Take-Aways:

  1. Smoothies and Smoothie Bowls are a GREAT way to eat Zero Waste because there are so many Zero Waste ingredients you can play with. Bananas, strawberries, blueberries, almond milk, matcha, peanuts. . . THE POSSIBILITIES !
  2. Ask your local grocery store about a “bread bin”

Stay (un)trashy,

-Sam

Leave a Reply

