Day 11: February 24 – Bread and Will Power

One of the biggest challenges of reducing my trash has been keeping my snacking cravings under control. When I get hungry. . . my stomach has a mind of its own.

Yesterday, my office sent a “snack cart” through the halls with free Oreos, beer, bags of peanuts, fruit roll-ups, and other snacky things. Unfortunately, everything was individually wrapped; it was like some sort of Zero Waste nightmare. . . IT WAS SO HARD TO SAY NO. . . like so hard. . .

longing.gif

. . . and in that moment I was hungry and cranky and knew it was bad, but I grabbed a few snacks to stash in my desk. I am not proud, but hey, I’m human. I’m learning how to deal with cravings, but sometimes I need to cut myself some slack.

 

Breakfast: BAGELS BAGELS SO MANY BAGELS !!!! I ended up choosing an egg bagel with butter

Snack: Banana-na

Lunch: Easy Vegan Chickpea Tikka Masala

 


In addition to being ZERO WASTE, this lunch is 100% vegan !!

The ingredients are a can of chick peas, a can of tomatoes, a can of coconut milk, lots of spices, corn starch, garlic, and an onion ! I made it last night to take for lunch today. I even packed a lunch for Carl, so we’re BOTH having Zero Waste lunches.*

Coffee: I took my reusable mug to the coffee shop across the street and got iced tea wit simple syrup !

After work I bounced over to an aerial yoga class before heading back home to the apartment. My friend Alex came over and we made some dinner & Zero Waste drinks !

Dinner: Grilled Cheese and Tomato Soup
I bought the cheese in plastic tubs, with no plastic film ! So every bit was able to be recycled ! The tomato soup came in a can. DOUBLE WIN !

Drinks: Moscow Mule & Dark and Stormy (ginger beer, lime juice, and either vodka or rum in glasses) It was so much fun, and really awesome catching up with her.

Day 11 Take-Aways:

  1. Vegan recipes are a good way to find Zero Waste recipes – the omission of meat and cheese means less packaging and fresher ingredients !
  2. Bring a reusable cup for your hot OR cold coffee drinks ! You’ll look fancy and lots of places give discounts for bringing your own cup
  3. Host a zero waste bar at your house / apt. Ditch the solo cups for a more intimate, adult, trash free vibe.

Stay (un)trashy,

-Sam

*Cooking with others is a great way to up your Zero Waste recipe game

One thought on “Day 11: February 24 – Bread and Will Power

Leave a Reply

