Recipe #1 – Breakfast: Overnight Chia Seed Pudding 4 Ways

I feel like I’ve talked about how much I love breakfast before. . . but I’m gonna say it again: GUYS, I LOVE BREAKFAST !!!!!

breakfast.gif
What can I say, I’m an early riser . . . as long as I get food

I love being up early to have some ‘me time’. Frying eggs or making coffee makes me a happy camper. There is something so cathartic about taking time to take care of yourself and start your day off right.

But – if you are NOT an early riser, I have 4 overnight, zero waste breakfast recipes for you to try !

I was just recently turned on to Chia seed pudding (shout out to you, Alissa) and I AM OBSESSED. I have gathered a few delicious, easy, and TOTALLY ZERO WASTE recipes for you to try at home !

A few notes before we begin:

  1. You’ll see (below) that I use almond / coconut milk. I do this because my tummy isn’t the happiest when I have regular milk. HOWEVER, you can totally substitute whole, skim, or any other milk in place of these. The flavors will just be a little different
  2. I purchase my chia seeds from a bulk bin at the local grocery store and bring my own bag. Whole Foods sometimes has a bulk section, but I know for a fact that you can get them in recyclable containers, too.
  3. I would definitely play around with flavor options and toppings ! Chia seed pudding is so versatile, which is one of the best things about it. You can literally just make the base (chia seeds and some type of milk) and then throw some sh*t on top.

Now. . . let’s get on to the recipes !

Blueberry Almond Chia Seed Pudding

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 c. Chia seeds
  • 1 c. almond milk
  • 1/2 carton of blueberries
  • 1 T. honey (in a glass jar from the farmer’s market)
16650957_10208384016825820_634402379_o-1
guest appearance by my Blanket Ladder

Directions:

  1. Pour the almond milk into a mason jar (or container of your choice)
  2. Whisk the Chia seeds into the milk. Stir well to make sure there aren’t any large clumps of seeds
  3. Cover, and refrigerate overnight
  4. When you’re ready to serve, top with blueberries and drizzle with honey

 

Raspberry Swirl Chia Seed Pudding

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 c. Chia seeds
  • 1 c. coconut milk
  • 1 carton of raspberries (use less if you want it to be lighter in flavor)

Directions:

  1. Blend coconut milk and 3/4 of the raspberries together until smooth
  2. Whisk the Chia seeds into the blended milk. Stir well to make sure there aren’t any large clumps of seeds
  3. Cover, and refridgerate overnight
  4. Add the remaining whole raspberries on top and enjoy !

*You can add some shaved chocolate on top or drizle some melted chocolate over the raspberries if you’re feeling really fancy #TreatYoself #ChocolateForBreakfast

 

Vanilla Pomegranate Chia Seed Pudding 

Ingredients:

  • 1.4 c. Chia seeds
  • 1 pomegranite (totally compostable)
  • 1 c. coconut milk
  • a splash of vanilla extract (in a glass container)
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon (in a glass spice jar)
  • 1 T. honey (in a glass jar from the farmer’s market)

Directions:

  1. Mix milk, honey, vanilla extract and ground cinnamon together in a mason jar (or container of your choice)
  2. Whisk the Chia seeds into the milk mixture. Stir well 
  3. Let the mixture chill in the fridge overnight in the refrigerator
  4. Serve topped with fresh pomegranate seeds (I would recommend googling “how to eat a pomegranate“. .  .because i pretty much mangled mine, lol)

 

Sinfully Sweet Sticky Bun Chia Seed Pudding

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 c. Chia seeds
  • 1 c. cashew milk (almond milk will also work)
  • 1 T. honey (in a glass jar from the farmer’s market)
  • 1/2 T. brown sugar (you can buy this in bulk !)
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon (in a glass spice jar)
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract (in a glass container)

Sticky Pecan topping

  • T . real maple syrup (in a glass container)
  • T . honey (in a glass jar from the farmer’s market)
  • Pinch of salt 
  • 1/4 c . chopped pecans (you can usually buy these in bulk)

Directions:

  1. In a medium bowl, whisk together cashew milk, chia seeds, agave, brown sugar, cinnamon, and vanilla
  2. Cover, and refrigerate overnight
  3. To make the sticky pecans, add maple syrup, agave, and salt to a saucepan and bring to a boil
  4. Remove from heat, and stir in pecans
  5. Let pecans sit for 5 minutes
  6. To serve, spoon sticky pecans over pudding, and enjoy !

 

There you have it ! 4 easy, delicious, Zero Waste Chia Seed Pudding recipes !!! if you want to know more, you can find some nutritional facts about Chia seeds here !

Stay (un)trashy,

-Sam

One thought on “Recipe #1 – Breakfast: Overnight Chia Seed Pudding 4 Ways

Leave a Reply

