Day 8: February 7 – Reusable Cotton Rounds and CAPS LOCK

Unless I am going out on the town with my #girlsquad, I am not really a big makeup person. I’ll throw some mascara on each day and almost always carry Burt’s Bees lip balm with me, but that’s about it.

makeup.gif
I just never really got into it

However, sometimes my awesome cousin hooks me up with trials of fancy products, lovely perfumes, face masks, amazing dry shampoos, and fun lipsticks (thanks Kate, you da best).

Lately I’ve been using this toner she got me for Christmas. I use it a few time a week before I go to bed. Since I don’t have any makeup related things, I was using pieces of toilet paper to apply the toner. . . don’t you JUDGE me. . . I realized this was not the most sustainable thing and started researching alternatives to using toilet paper.

I kept coming across “reusable cotton rounds”. The more I dug, the more I was like “okay, gurl I’m sold let’s do this take my money.”

I hopped over to Etsy (because #shopsmall) to find the perfect rounds – and BAM there they were.

These are from CuteandFunky on Etsy. If you’re looking for reusable cotton rounds, check out her shop ! She has them in hundreds of different colors & patterns, and they are super affordable. She even has easy to follow care instructions:

Wash in a lingerie bag in with towels, or a regular wash cycle. Place the bag in the dryer on tumble dry low and you are good to go!

EASY PEASY ! You can use them to take makeup off, put toner on, remove nail polish, and lots of other stuff too !

If, however, you don’t like the idea of using reusable cotton rounds, then I have good news for you ! BECAUSE COTTON BALLS ARE ACTUALLY COMPOSTABLE !!!!

nice.gif
I HAD NO IDEA

So, if you use cotton balls – COMPOST THEM ! If you want something a little more sustainable – LOOK INTO REUSABLE COTTON ROUNDS ! EVERYBODY WINS !

Okay, enough of that. . . moving on to food . . .

Breakfast: 2 mini croissants (thank you catered work meetings) and a smoothie with peanut butter, almond milk, coffee grinds, and frozen bananas

Lunch: Chicken Tikka Masala from a store I completely forget the name of. . . I’m awful, I know. I asked if they could just package it in my reusable bowl instead of in their plastic containers, and they agreed ! See, it never hurts to ask.

16586862_10208369451221689_173437239_o (1).jpg

Coffee:  hmmmm, I wonder if she used her reusable cof – GURL YOU ALREADY KNOW !!!!!

Dinner: not super hungry – I’m probably going to throw together a rice dish with some peppers and maybe mushrooms. . . but there is a good to fair chance I will just get a slice of $0.99 pizza. . .

Day 8 Take-Aways:

  1. I am constantly surprised by the number of every day items that are compostable ! COTTON BALLS can go right into the compost with your banana peels and apple cores
  2. If you’re looking for a more sustainable way to remove makeup / nail polish, look into purchasing reusable cotton rounds
  3. If your company caters a meeting, take your food on a napkin (if possible) instead of a plate. That way, you can compost the napkin !
  4. Today was a big day for CAPS LOCK. . . I guess I’m just really excited about cotton rounds

Are you a big fan of makeup? Do you have any hacks to reduce your makeup waste? Heard of any good brands that have minimal packaging / are eco friendly? Let me know !

That’s all for today, folks. Gonna go do some yoga tonight and then crash into bed. I’ve been absolutely wiped lately.

Stay (un)trashy,

-Sam

Leave a Reply

