Day 5: January 26 – Hard Boiled Eggs and Glass Bottles

Today was my last “Zero Waste” day in January. (Zero Waste is in quotes because I did generate trash today) . .

welp.gif

BUT ! I have grown SO MUCH in just one month. I have gathered new tricks, struggled so hard, shared some pointers, learned new hacks, and ultimately become so much more aware and made some pretty awesome strides to reduce my trash ! I can confidently say that I have reduced my trash by at least 30% just by getting my compost bin and making more conscious decisions. In fact, just yesterday a co-worker asked me about my compost bin. SHARING KNOWLEDGE IS KEY !

But – as indicated by my struggle to go Zero Waste today – I still have a long way to go.

So, what did my day look like?

Breakfast: One banana, 2 hard boiled eggs, and a bottle of coconut water by COCOTEIN

Not gonna lie – this was WAY to sugary for my liking (even though it only had 5g of sugar). . . but, the bright side is that I now have a reusable water bottle that fits snugly into the side pocket of my work backpack !

water.gif
stay hydrated

Lunch: Last night I threw together some lunch-esque items for work. I made some rice with sauteed peppers and squash with a dash of paprika because fancy. Also, I utilized my work silverware to avoid any plastic cutlery.

Coffee: You guessed it – reusable mug that I took to our company’s coffee shop. . . and the barista knows me by name now !!!!

coffee.gif
#coffeegoals

Snack: A yellow apple (with a sticker. . . DANG IT) and a surprise milkshake from Shake Shack. Normally I am not big on fast food because it’s unhealthy and almost always comes wrapped in packaging, BUT my coworker asked me if I wanted to go get a milkshake. . . and I love milkshakes. . . and I want to make friends #imstillnewhere

After work I headed straight to Yoga !!! I assisted the 6:45 class and took the class right after, so I will be having a very late dinner tonight. But – I just got home and, so it’s time to cook !

Dinner: Potato Gnocchi (egg, flour, potatoes) sauteed in rosemary and olive oil

Making gnocchi is a simple way to have Zero Waste Italian !

So, again, today was not as successful as it could have been. . . BUT I have faith in my ability to create new, better, zero waste habits and am looking forward to the days to come !

Day 5 Take-Aways:

  1. Glass bottles are better (and more reusable / durable) than flimsy plastic ones – so if you are going to #treatyoself to a fancy drink, look for ones that come in glass bottles
  2. Cooking at home reduces your waste because you are more in control of choosing waste free items
  3. Composting at work is a great way to spark conversations with others about composting !
  4. Forgive yourself and know that in the early stages trash is unavoidable

As January closes, I have time to reflect on my goals for February:

  1. go at least 7* days Zero Waste (2/2, 2/3, 2/7, 2/9, 2/17, 2/24, 2./27)
  2. keep collecting all my work trash^ in my tiny mason jar (I started on 1/13)
  3. curate 5 recipes for Zero Waste lunches

If you have any recipes for Zero Waste lunches (or dinners) let me know ! Planning is the key, and it helps to have a few handy recipes to choose from.

Stay (un)trashy

-Sam

*you may remember that I originally only planned to do 5 days Zero Waste in February, but I’m feeling feisty !

^”Work Trash” is defined as any trash I generate from the time I get to work until the time I leave. This includes any trash from lunches, breakfast, snacks, or work related activities.

Leave a Reply

