Day 3: January 17 – Leftovers

Guys, if I have learned anything on my journey to Zero Waste, it’s that planning ahead makes things so, so, so, so so, so, SO much easier.

I had planned 5 specific days in January to go Zero Waste. However, it wasn’t until late last night that I remembered that I was scheduled to go full on Zero Waste today, and I was like:

giphy

I took a deep breath – looked around my apartment – got my thoughts together – and started making a plan. Luckily, Carl was up for a late(ish) night run to the grocery store. I scribbled a few items on the grocery list, and started planning out my day.

Peeking into the fridge, I saw that I had some leftovers from earlier that day that I could use for lunch. SCORE !

halelu

*SIDE NOTE: Leftovers are THE BEST. I usually try to make at least 2-3 servings when I cook. That way I have enough for left overs the next day. It’s a great way to meal prep and takes the stress off of having to figure out what to eat each day. 

So, what did I eat / do today? Glad you asked, imaginary reader.

Breakfast: knock off Almond Brothers smoothie (I miss you Happy + Hale)

16129723_10208205387200191_1508857799_o
coffee grinds, frozen bananas, a few scoops of peanut butter& a splash of almond milk

Lunch: Half a Meatball Panini (leftovers from yesterday’s lunch)

Snack: Some oatmeal sprinkled with cinnamon & sugar and a handfull of banana chips (I bought plain steel cut oats – in a large cardboard tub – so I can make my own flavor combinations)

Dranks: Filling up my metal, re-usable water bottle like a mo’fo #stayhydrated #h20noshedidnt

16121684_10208205389720254_997300424_o
I got mine from Kleen Kanteen

Tea: You guessed it, I brought my own mug to work and made myself a big old cup-o-tea

cofrfee.gif
give me caffeine or give me death. . . but don’t give me waste

Dinner: Picking up a slice (or 2) of $0.99 pizza on my way out of work. I brought my own container/plate to the restaurant. . . would we call it a restaurant? . . .to avoid getting a paper plate.

Also, I am heading to yoga tonight to help clear my mind, re-fuel, and prepare myself for the week ahead. . .

yoga

Na’mastay centered, fools – mental health is important.

Day 3 Take-Aways:

  1. Leftovers can be a life meal saver
  2. Smoothies are an easy, fast, zero waste breakfast option – and the flavor combinations are endless !!!
  3. Try making your own knock-off smoothies (again, I miss you so much Happy + Hale)

Stay (un)trashy,

-Sam

Leave a Reply

